THE CALL

WHO CALLS ME THERE?

Image

I hear a call

in the fluttering  prayer flags ,

in  the circles of the prayer wheels,

when solemn mantras  weave a  sonorous web,

and  life is read in the sound  of temple bells,Image

I hear a call

in the smoky flicker of the butter lamps ,

in the somber telling of the rosary beads,

where hallowed precincts hold  His steadfast love,

And radiant faces ever rejoice  in loving trust.

 

 I sit in peace in the charmed circle of the  smoky silence

I sit in silence in camphor-fragrant  chamber of my heart,Image

I sit in love and in gratitude, Be my shield, O Lord!

My trembling lips utter this silent prayer.

Why do my kohl rimmed eyes look  so far  beyond ?

Am I wandering pilgrim or a wayward soul?

 I hear the call

O! Who calls me there?

Standard

Leave a Reply

